Accrediting Council

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

May 10, 2024

Todd Diacon, President Kent State University

Dear President Diacon:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met May 3, 2024 in Washington, D.C. and voted 15-0, with two recusals, that the undergraduate program in the School of Media & Journalism at Kent State University receive full reaccreditation. Director Emily Metzgar attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the site team and Committee recommendations for full reaccreditation.

We will be in touch with Dr. Metzgar about the next visit for the school, scheduled for the 2027-2028 academic year.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate with your faculty and administrators in the assessment of your program. The goal of the Accrediting Council is to improve the quality of education offered to students served by a program through that assessment. Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for success for the School of Media & Journalism, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Del Galloway, ACEIMC President

cc: Emily Metzgar, Director

Jennifer Sizemore, site team chair

Marie Hardin, chair, Accrediting Committee

Patricia Thompson, executive director, ACEJMC