Accrediting Council

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

May 8, 2024

Pamela Whitten, President Indiana University

Dear President Whitten:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met May 3, 2024, in Washington, D.C,. and voted 16-0, with one recusal, that the undergraduate Journalism Unit at Indiana University receive full reaccreditation. Director Gerry Lanosga attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the site team and Committee recommendations for full reaccreditation.

We will be in touch with Dr. Lanosga about the next visit for the unit, scheduled for the 2027-28 academic year.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate with your faculty and administrators in the assessment of your program. The goal of the Accrediting Council is to improve the quality of education offered to students served by a program through that assessment. Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for success for the Journalism Unit, its students, faculty, and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Del Galloway, ACEIMC President

cc: Gerry Lanosga, Director
Joel Kaplan, site team chair
Marie Hardin, chair, Accrediting Committee
Patricia Thompson, executive director, ACEJMC