Accrediting Council

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

Patricia Thompson Executive Director

May 9, 2019

Cheryl D. Dozier, President Savannah State University P.O. Box 20449/3219 College St. Savannah, GA 31404

Dear President Dozier:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 26 in Chicago and voted 17-0 that the Department of Journalism and Mass Communications at Savannah State University receive reaccreditation. Julianna Trammel, interim chair of the department, attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the recommendations for reaccreditation made by the Accrediting Committee and the site team. The department was found in noncompliance on one of the 9 ACEJMC standards, Standard 1: Mission, Governance and Administration. Council members extensively discussed concerns about the turnover in department leadership and the search for a permanent chair. The site team reported:

"Too many disruptive changes in leadership prevent the unit from maximizing its fullest potential.... Instability in the position of chair cuts into potential gains. Longer-term leadership is in order. The 2013 site team reached similar conclusions during its visit to Savannah State, finding the unit out of compliance on Standard 1, as well."

There also were concerns raised about the lack of scholarship activity by the faculty.

The next visit for the Department of Journalism and Mass Communications will be during the 2024-2025 academic year.

Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for continued success for the Department of Journalism and Mass Communications at Savannah State University, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Peter Bhatia ACEIMC President

cc: Julianna Trammel, interim chair
Caesar Andrews, site team chair
Chris Callahan, chair, Accrediting Committee
Patricia Thompson, executive director, ACEJMC