# SCEN

Newsletter of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

March 2018 Vol. 25 #1

## **ACCREDITATION MEETINGS**

# **Accrediting Committee to meet March 24**

The Accrediting Committee will meet Saturday, March 24, in Chicago at the Westin Hotel, 909 N. Michigan Ave. The meeting will begin at 8:30 a.m. in the Chicago Ballroom and end between 4 and 5 p.m. Sixteen visit reports

Discussion Schedule

Accreditation and four revisit reports will be discussed. It is difficult to determine how long each school's discussion will be.

Page 2

This is an open meeting. However, registration is requested. For more information, contact Susanne Shaw

at sshaw@ku.edu or 785-864-3986.

# Accrediting Council to meet April 27-28

The Accrediting Council will meet Friday, April 27, and for a half day on Saturday, April 28, in Chicago at the Westin Hotel, 909 N. Michigan Ave.

Accrediting decisions will be made Friday for 20 schools. The meeting will begin at 8:30 a.m. in the Chicago Ballroom and end around 4:30 p.m. At the end of Friday's meeting, a time will be set for the Saturday morning business meeting.

The discussion schedule will be based on the accreditation recommendations by the Committee, with denial/provisional recommendations first, followed by schools with noncompliances, and finally in alphabetical order the schools with compliance in all standards.

The hotel's single room rate is \$199 per night. Deadline for reservations is Thursday, April 5. Make reservations by calling 888-627-8385. You must ask for an Accrediting Council room to receive this rate. Make reservations online at https://www.starwoodmeeting.com/Book/ AccreditingCouncilApril2018

This is an open meeting. However, registration is requested. For more information, contact Susanne Shaw at sshaw@ku.edu or 785-864-3986.

# **Fall Council meeting**

The Accrediting Council's fall business meeting will be Friday, Aug. 24, at the Westin Hotel, 909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago. Details will be sent this summer.

# 2018-2019 Site Visit Schedule

Twelve schools have invited ACEJMC for an accreditation review in 2018-19. As part of this review process, ACEJMC policy invites comments from third parties, limited to written comment speaking directly to the unit's compliance with the Council's nine accreditation standards.

Oct. 21-24 University of Minnesota

Oct. 28-31 Pennsylvania State University Washington and Lee University

Nov. 4-7 Abilene Christian University Ohio University

Jan. 27-30 University of Illinois University of Memphis

Feb. 3-6 Savannah State University Qatar University

Feb. 10-13 University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras Columbia University

#### Revisit:

St. Bonaventure University (initial accreditation)

## **ONLINE RESOURCES**

Several resources to assist programs with the accreditation process are available on ACEJMC's website. Documents are found under the resources tab.

ACEJMC's Guide to Assessment explains ACEJMC's expectations of an assessment plan and offers suggestions for assessing student learning. http://www.acejmc.org/ resources/acejmc-guideto-assessment/

Preparation for Accreditation details the actions a program should undertake in the years before the self-study, including the collection of data and record keeping, and the involvement of faculty and students in the accreditation process. http://www.acejmc.org/resources/preparation-for-accreditation/

How to Develop Mission and Plans provides information on writing a mission statement and developing a diversity plan, a long-range strategic plan, and an assessment plan. http://www.acejmc.org/resources/mission-and-plans/

# Examples of self-stud-

ies also are available on the website. These reports represent a broad spectrum of program sizes and resources. http://www. acejmc.org/resources/selfstudy-examples/

For more information, contact the ACEJMC office at 785-864-7640 or email creinardy@ku.edu

## **March 24 Committee Discussion Schedule**

8:30 a.m. Chicago Ballroom

## School

- 1. University of Arkansas, Fayetteville (revisit)
- 2. Bowling Green State University (revisit)
- 3. North Carolina A&T University (revisit
- 4. Texas Christian University (revisit)
- 5. Virginia Commonwealth University
- 6. New York University
- 7. Southern University and A&M College
- 8. University of Montana
- 9. University of Georgia
- 10. Elon University
- 11. University of Louisiana at Lafayette
- 12. Nicholls State
- 13. University of Oregon
- 14. Auburn University
- 15. South Dakota State University
- 16. University of Arizona
- 17. Florida A&M University
- 18. Eastern Illinois University
- 19. Universidad del Turabo
- 20. University of Florida

#### Site Team Chair

Tim Gleason

Ann Brill

Jan Dates

Will Norton

Joe Foote

Paul Parsons

Barbara Hines

Kristin Gilger

Will Norton

Trevor Brown
Pam Luecke

Barbara Cochran

Doug Anderson

David Boardman

Maryanne Reed

Marie Hardin

Caesar Andrews

Jennifer Sizemore

Heidi de Laubenfels

Chris Callahan

# Schools must update retention, graduation data

Accredited programs (both undergraduate and master's) are required to update retention and graduation data annually on their websites by Aug. 15.

New programs undergoing initial accreditation review are required to have data posted before their site visit.

Step 1: Update program data on the website.

Note: Data must be at the accredited program level.

Step 2: Notify the ACEJMC office when data have been updated. Email the notification and correct url to creinardy@ku.edu

Note: The url must be a direct link to the data.

The policy and penalty for not meeting the data requirement can be found on ACEJMC's website at http://www.acejmc.org/resources/instructions-for-publishing-retention-and-graduation-data

Email questions to creinardy@ku.edu.

# Leadership

# President Accrediting Council

Peter Bhatia
Editor and Vice President
Detroit Free Press
and freep.com
peterkbhatia@gmail.com

#### Vice President Accrediting Council

Paul Parsons
Dean
School of Communication,
Elon University,
Elon, N.C.
(336)278-5724
pparsons@elon.edu

## Chair

# Accrediting Committee

Chris Callahan
Dean, University Vice
Provost, Walter Cronkite
School of Journalism and
Mass Communication,
Arizona State University,
555 N. Central Ave.,
Phoenix, AZ
(602)496-5012
Fax: (602)496-5116
Christopher.callahan@asu.edu

#### Vice Chair Accrediting Committee

Marie Hardin
Dean
Donald P. Bellisario College
of Communications
Pennsylvania State
University
University Park, PA
(814)863-1484
mch208@psu.edu

## ACEJMC Office

## **Executive Director**

Susanne Shaw (785) 864-3986 Email: sshaw@ku.edu

#### Assistant to the Executive Director

Cindy Reinardy (785) 864-7640 Email: creinardy@ku.edu

## Office Staff

Cheryl Klug (785) 864-3973 Email: cklug@ku.edu

MARCH 2018 Page 2