

Newsletter of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

February 2017 Vol. 24 #1

## **Accrediting Committee to review 24 schools**

The Accrediting Committee will meet Saturday, March 25, at the Westin Hotel, 909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago.

The Saturday meeting will begin at 8:30 a.m. in the Chicago Ballroom and end around 4 p.m. Twenty-one site visit reports and three revisit reports will be presented.

The hotel rate is \$179 per night. Deadline for reservations is 5 p.m. Friday, March 3. Make reservations by calling 888-627-8385. You must ask for an Accrediting Council room to receive this rate.

#### Make reservations online here

or copy the following link into your browser: https://www.starwoodmeeting.com/events/start.action?id=1701112501&key=2D62B995

Contact Susanne Shaw, sshaw@ku.edu, with questions about reservations.

The meeting is open, but registration is requested. Contact Cheryl Klug at cklug@ku.edu or Cindy Reinardy at creinardy@ku.edu.

#### **DISCUSSION SCHEDULE**

#### **REVISIT REVIEWS:**

University of South Dakota University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire San Jose State University

## **ACCREDITATION/REACCREDITATION REVIEWS**

University of Iowa

St. Bonaventure University (Initial review)

Grambling State University

Shippensburg University

University of Missouri

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

University of Kansas

Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville

Arizona State University

University of Colorado

St. Cloud State University

University of Nebraska

**Drake University** 

Southeast Missouri State University

Norfolk State University

University of Southern California

Colorado State University

University of North Florida (Initial review)

Middle Tennessee State University

University of South Carolina

University of Mississippi

## MEETINGS CALENDAR

2017

Accrediting Committee March 25

Accrediting Council April 28-29

Accrediting Council Aug. 25

#### 2018

Accrediting Committee March 24

Accrediting Council April 27-28

Accrediting Council Aug. 24

Meetings in 2017 and 2018 will be at the Westin Hotel, 909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago.

## MEMBER and PROGRAM UPDATES

Robbie Morganfield was named head of the Department of Mass Communication at Grambling State University. Sandra Lee had served as interim head until January, when Morganfield was appointed.

Gail Wiggins is serving as interim chair of the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University.

Ingrid Bachman was named director of the Department of Journalism at Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile.

Michael Bugeja, director of Iowa State's Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, received a 2017 Distinguished Service Award from the Iowa Newspaper Association at its Feb. 1-3 convention. Bugeja was recognized for his "key role in preparing the next generation for a future in journalism."

# Accreditation workshop planned for Aug. 24

The Accrediting Council will offer a one-day workshop to assist administrators with the accreditation review process. The workshop will be 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 24, at The Westin Hotel, 909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago.

The workshop is open to any accredited school or schools working toward initial accreditation, as well as schools interested in learning more about accreditation.

There is no fee for the workshop, but registration is required.

Information about registration and hotel information will be available in early June.

The workshop will look closely at the nine standards of accreditation, the self-study process, what to expect during the site visit and will explain the roles of the Accrediting Committee and Accrediting Council.

Topics also will address development of a strategic plan, a diversity plan and an assessment plan.

The afternoon will include small group breakout sessions and the opportunity to meet one-on-one with presenters or ACEJMC staff.

Contact Susanne Shaw, ACEJMC executive director, at 785-864-3986 or sshaw@ku.edu, with your questions.

## Accrediting Council to meet April 28-29

The Accrediting Council will meet Friday, April 28, and a half day Saturday, April 29, in the at The Westin Hotel, 909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago.

On Friday, April 28, the Council will meet at 8:30 a.m. and make accreditation decisions for 21 schools and three revisits. On Saturday, April 29, the Council will conduct a business meeting. Start time will be determined at the end of Friday's meeting.

Details about the meeting room and start time, as well as information on hotel reservations and how to register for the meeting will, be sent in March.

The accreditation deliberations and business meeting are open, but registration is requested.

Contact Susanne Shaw, ACEJMC executive director, at 785-864-3986 or sshaw@ku.edu, with your questions.

## Leadership

President
Accrediting Council
Peter Bhatia
Edior and Vice
President for Audience
Development
Enquirer Media
Cincinnati, Ohio
(513)768-8551
peterkbhatia@gmail.com

Vice President
Accrediting Council
Paul Parsons
Dean
School of Communication
Elon University,
Elon, N.C.
(336)278-5724
pparsons@elon.edu

Chair
Accrediting Committee
Chris Callahan,
Dean, University Vice
Provost, Walter Cronkite
School of Journalism and
Mass Communication,
Arizona State University,
555 N. Central Ave.,
Phoenix, AZ
(602)496-5012
Fax: (602)496-5116
Email: Christopher.
callahan@asu.edu

Vice Chair Accrediting Committee Marie Hardin Dean College of Communications Pennsylvania State University University Park, PA (814)863-1484 Email: mch208@psu.edu

## **ACEJMC Office**

#### **Executive Director**

Susanne Shaw (785) 864-3986 Email: sshaw@ku.edu

#### Assistant to the Executive Director

Cindy Reinardy (785) 864-7640 Email: creinardy@ku.edu

Office Staff Cheryl Klug

Cheryl Klug (785) 864-3973 Email: cklug@ku.edu